Upgrading Question

@Home 14:16 12 Jan 05

I thinking of upgrading my graphics card from a GFORCE FX 5200 128 MB DDR
to an

If anyone could help me out with the following questions I would be grateful:

1st Would I notice an improvement? Not just with games but in general day-to-day computing e.g. Internet – Office Work etc

2nd Are their alternatives I could consider? I am using a Soltek Motherboard not too sure if ATI are compatible with them

3rd I only occasionally play games, so would I be wasting my money & time changing my G Card

@Home 14:42 12 Jan 05

Any opinions?

Noelg23 14:54 12 Jan 05

unless ur an avid gamer and want decent looking graphics then I would advise not to get a graphics card like that...cos u dont play games that much so I wouldnt really go for it...but its up to u mate...

LeadingMNMs 14:55 12 Jan 05

I would personally think that it would be a waste of time, although I'm no expert on graphics cards. Providing that the games you play aren't the very latest, then its unlikely that you will notice any difference between the cards performance.

Jeffers22 15:00 12 Jan 05

As said above, if you are not going to play the latest games then you would just be wasting your money as you willl see NO difference in everyday computing. Unless that is, you run your screen of DVI - it is definitely a bit sharper than analogue. But that probably means a new monitor too I guess.

Totally-braindead 15:12 12 Jan 05

For general day to day computing you'll notice no difference its a waste of money. Its a good graphics card don't get me wrong but if you're not a gamer then you'll see no difference. If you want to improve your desktop graphics then check your monitor is set to at least 75hz and/or consider a new monitor if yours isn't too good.

@Home 15:27 12 Jan 05

So sorry wrong card

I meant this one 256MB XFX GeForce 6800 GT

Same questions apply

StuPC-2004 15:49 12 Jan 05