Upgrading Processor & Ram

littlestar 19:33 31 Aug 10

I have got a 8 Year Old Sony PC ( Model PCV RS322E ) RAM 512mb and Intel Pentium 4 2.60 GHz.

I am a novice and i am looking to upgrade my PC, I have been onto Crucial Memory, and they have sorted out a 2GB of RAM for my Model, but am stuck on purchasing a new quicker Processor, I have got my eyes on a INTEL Core 2 Duo Processor E7500 ( this is compatible with LGA 775 Socket Motherboards ) but will this be compatible to my motherboard ? How do i find out what motherboard i have ?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

MAJ 19:52 31 Aug 10

"How do i find out what motherboard i have ?"

Download SIW click here It will tell you all about the hardware and software on your computer. It's unlikely that 8 year old MB will support an Intel Core 2 Duo processor. You might have to buy a MB, Processor, Memory bundle.

Fruit Bat /\0/\ 19:56 31 Aug 10

the IntelCore 2 Duo is unlikey to be compatible with an 8 year old motherboard

the biggest problem you have with that is the ram 512 is very low.

Its probably not worth upgrading onto an old motherboard would would be betteroff fitting a new motherboard bundle. click here

What do you what it to do and what's the budget?

littlestar 20:03 31 Aug 10

Thanks guy's, to fit a Motherboard is that a mega job, or could i do it myself ?

MAJ 20:07 31 Aug 10

You will probably also need a new PSU. It's not a big job to install the bundle, but it can be to troubleshoot any problems if it doesn't all go to plan, especially if you're not used to working inside the case.

littlestar 20:24 31 Aug 10

With my RAM at 512mb, the PC can sometimes work really slow especially if the Wife has been watching live TV Streams from her from Asia.