upgrade needed

gingerfox 19:03 09 Feb 05

can anyone give a total novice in computers a guiding hand i have a hp a509 computer it was only £300 i thought it would be ideal for a beginner but for a beginner i think its absolutely crap slow, i use aol 2mb broadband and it even struggles with that i tried putting a game on it and so jurky i could'nt play it. is it possible to put a faster proccessor in it it is at 2.6ghz and has a 40g hard drive is there any thing i can do to make it fast or should i spend some more money on a better one if so what do you suggest thanks.

JonnyTub 19:05 09 Feb 05

You don't mention how much memory you have, this is the single biggest speed boost and upgrade you could do. The hard drive is a little on the small side in comparison with the latest machines, a future upgrade possibility.

mattyc_92 19:09 09 Feb 05

If you are a novice, then the best thing would to buy a new up-2-date system (around £600)...

To "upgrade" the processor, you will have to get the correct type e.g. a Socket 754Pin.... Your processor is better than the one that I have installed in this machine... The graphics card would set you around £60 for a card that can cope with almost every game on the market at the moment...

The memory may need to be upgraded..

A processor can cost anything up to £200 for a faster one than you have at the momement...

I would format the system and see if that makes a difference first..

gingerfox 19:10 09 Feb 05

the memory is 256mb
plus its intel celeron is this much cop

JonnyTub 19:12 09 Feb 05

I personally would double the memory, processor is fine, i would look at other factors which may contribute to the slow speed of your pc.

I.e. spyware,malware, viruses, etc

What's running in the background, clean out temp files, defrag the hard drive... you know the usual kind of stuff.

mattyc_92 19:13 09 Feb 05