Updating Bios and !!!

spuds 13:22 03 Jul 05

Having quite a bit of computer troubles with error messages, blue screen's and such like.

Error messages are suggesting doing a CHKDSK/F or Bios update or component drivers update.Check the drivers and they seem okay and of latest versions, so that leaves the Bios or CHKDSK/F.

Now hold my hand gently, and let's walk very steadily. How do I complete the above suggestions/tasks.

Perhaps this query should go into the new Absolute Beginners forum, as I am not thinking very straight this week!.

alltime 13:34 03 Jul 05

Most manufactures dont recommend updating the bios unless the computer wont run correctly, Which presumably it has in the past.
You could try running chkdisk

click here

spuds 14:01 03 Jul 05

Thanks for that, will try as instructed, and see if that solves the problem.

961 15:15 03 Jul 05

Have you installed anything new lately, hardware or software?

Do you have virus checker/firewall/anti trojan software up to date?

What o/s are you using? Have you system restore to roll back to before trouble started?

If the computer is not working well and is subject to blue screen etc it is unwise to try to update the BIOS as a glitch in the middle of it could cause computer death

Post some of the error messages

spuds 17:07 03 Jul 05

[1]No
[2] Yes-All up to date and fully working
[3]XP Home. Tried restore roll back. Problems were still evident.
[5] Error messages seem to vary, from remove hardware/software, chkdsk/f, update drivers-bios.

Did 'alltime' suggestion,and so far within last three hours, computer seems stable. [fingers crossed].

Totally-braindead 18:41 03 Jul 05