Unwanted password window in 98SE

  pienter 09:01 26 Oct 04
Locked

My daughter has inherited a computer previously used in an office. The operating system is Windows 98SE and during bootup a window appears containing the previous user's name and requesting a password. Fortunately pressing the Cancel button causes the window to disappear and bootup continues successfully. Nevertheless it would be nice to eliminate the password window or failing that, change the owner name and password. The previous user's password is known. Any suggestions?

  Valvegrid 09:20 26 Oct 04

Go to Windows Explorer and do a search for a file called *.pwl and delete the file. Next right click on Network Neighbourhood and make sure its set for Windows Login, re-boot the computer, you'll be asked for the password again, just click OK and it shouldn't worry you again.

  recap 09:22 26 Oct 04

It's one of two things:

1) the password has been set in Control Panel/Users

or

2) its in the setup, on bootup press Delete to entre setup. Enter the option for Administrator and change the user name and password.

  Cuddles 10:29 26 Oct 04

CONTROL PANEL > NETWORK > remove client for ms networks > REBOOT > re-instate client for ms networks > REBOOT > click ok in log in box.

  Anthony-188823 11:53 26 Oct 04

If this is the network password - on the desktop, right click on Network Neighborhood, select Properties. In the configuration tap > Primary Network Logon drop-down menu select 'Windows Login'. Click OK...

  pienter 17:19 27 Oct 04

The procedure suggested by Valvegrid of deleting all *.pwl files and setting Windows Login followed by rebooting has successfully eliminated the annoying password window during startup for which many thanks. It was necessary to rename the computer, workgroup and description as the programme insisted that these could not be left blank. Two questions remain. Why is this all necessary when the PCEthernet card is disabled in all profiles according to Control Panel > Systems and why does pressing the Start button still bring up a line 'Logoff' followed by the name of the previous user? I would have expected that all references to that person would by now be eliminated.

This thread is now locked and can not be replied to.

How to get Windows 10 for free | How to install Windows 10: There is still a way to avoid paying…

1995-2015: How technology has changed the world in 20 years

Hands-on with the Star Wars fighting drones you can fly yourself

15 macOS Sierra tips | How to use macOS Sierra: Secret tricks and best new features in Apple's new…