Unwanted message

  MickinPlymouthUK 02:53 06 Jun 06

During bootup I get the message "Enter your network password for Microsoft Networking" but I've no idea what it means, its only just started appearing out of the blue for no apparent reason.
I get rid of it easily enough by clicking Cancel, but its still annoying because it halts the bootup til I get rid of it.
How can I stop it appearing altogether?

  Gongoozler 06:36 06 Jun 06

Hi MickinPlymouthUK. What version of Windows are you running?

  MickinPlymouthUK 10:25 06 Jun 06

I'm Win 98 SE

  brundle 10:29 06 Jun 06

If you are sharing files or printers on a network use TweakUI's auto-logon option (amongst other fixes click here) . If not, go to Control Panel/Network Connections (sorry rough memory of 98, could be wrong), remove Client for Microsoft Networks and File & Printer Sharing - you should be left with TCP/IP only. Reboot, the log in box should no longer appear.

  brundle 10:29 06 Jun 06

If you get a warning saying your network is not complete, ignore it and select Continue Anyway

  MickinPlymouthUK 01:57 07 Jun 06

Okay thanks Brundle that seems to have worked :)

This thread is now locked and can not be replied to.

Nintendo Switch (Nintendo NX) release date, price, specs and preview trailer: Codename NX console…

1995-2015: How technology has changed the world in 20 years

8 things designers (and brands) need to know about the modern woman

How to speed up a slow Mac: 19 great tips to make an iMac, MacBook or Mac mini run faster | Speed…