unmountable boot volume error code

nickiee 20:53 22 Aug 13

My notebook has died and although I'm not bothered about saving what was on there, if I could at least get to safe mode I'd be very happy! I'm not tech savvy by any means but I can follow basic instructions if anyone can help. I've tried logging in via safe mode/last known good configuration/safe mode with command prompt but it just returns to "blue screen of death" I have a samsung notebook n130, approx. 4 years old. Any help greatly appreciated

woodchip 21:42 22 Aug 13

Its a Hard Drive Problem, you may be able to get to the files using a Ubuntu CD to boot from. You have to download Ubuntu and create a ISO image with the Downloaded file. If you are not bothered about files buy a new drive that fits your Notebook then use a Disc with the Operating System on it the Key should be on the bottom of the Notebook

Ubuntu Download click here

Fruit Bat /\0/\ 22:00 22 Aug 13

Op system? XP VISTA 7?

Do you have a windows disk?

Boot from the disk and run chkdsk /f at the command prompt.

Then attempt a reboot into widows normally.

nickiee 15:00 24 Aug 13

Thanks for responding. It is windows xp & I don't have installation disk. I've been able to access the samsung recovery installation program within the notebook but I still get error code as before. I thought I'd be able to restore it to factory settings but without success so far. I've had a message about partition not found - is this fixable? I have an uncle who works in IT, I think I should just pass it to him to fix - it seems too complicated for an untrained person like me(!) unless you have any "idiot" tips for me?? Many thanks

woodchip 15:17 24 Aug 13

At Command Prompt type

chkdsk /f

Then press enter key

Zurdo 10:28 25 Aug 13

I had exactly the same problem a few weeks ago with an elderly (about 9 year old) desktop. In the end after days of frustration I took a hammer to the hard drive and scrapped it as not worth the bother!