You're mixing up your terminology. The connection between your PC and your router, via the wireless medium is encrypted - that's your Local Area Connection. The communication from your PC, via the router, after it has been received and decrypted is sent `in the clear` to the internet.That's the Wide Area Connection. It's a standard warning you'll see with a fresh installation of Windows or when you reset browser settings or install a new browser. As long as you see the padlock on secure https sites your communications are safe.