Understanding a web control panel

Revi 21:30 21 Sep 05

At the outset let me clarify that I am totally new to web publishing.

A few days back when, through email, I first got the details of my web control panel such as URL, login, password I rushed to enter into my remote site with the help of these 3 data and published my website from FP2003 without much difficulty. Yesterday Taran was absolutely right when he pointed out that the remote server may not actually support FP Extensions even though the host may have confirmed so. This was solved later.

Having now settled down a bit I opened my control panel once again and found there are things in it I do not quite understand. Could some one please be kind enough to explain to me what the following mean? 1. Physical path: c:\\Websites\594\mycompany.com. I mean, if without the knowledge of this physical path I could already have published my site and am repeatedly updating it successfully then what is it good for?

Then there are these folder name: click here company.com, Username: fp7500, Password: xyz. When, how and where do I use these?

Would appreciate a detailed reply.

Revi 21:35 21 Sep 05

The "Click here" has appeared quite inadvertently, it should have instead read "h t t p : my company"

Forum Editor 00:34 22 Sep 05

everything looks confusing, but it will gradually fall into place - don't try to run before you can walk. Is your site visible on the Internet? If it is, then you can relax and take things one by one.

The physical path to your site on your local hard drive - that's the one on your computer called 'C' - is simply the address of the folder in which you store the files. It's this folder from which you publish the site to the server.