Unable to start my PC - help needed

wobblymike 19:10 19 Jul 05

Some assistance please. I am a fairly experienced PC builder, I have just taken delivery of a ASUS A7V8X-X mobo with AMD 2100+ and CRUCIAL 256Mb DDR 400 which I bought on e bay. I have fitted it to a case connected it up, fitted HDD, Floppy, CD Rom etc and switched it on. Up it came and auto detected 256 MB RAm, HDD, and CD Rom no problem. I then set it to run a win 98 boot disc it started and then stopped - I tried running MAXBLAST - the same - I tried running PC check from a bootable CD - the same - I tried loading an OS from both CD and floppy - the same. I have replaced hard drive, CD ROM, floppy and all IDE cables no joy. It seems to me it can only be either the MOBO or the RAM stick - I don't have a spare RAM stick of that type to try but before I get one I would apreciate any guidance anyone can offer.

stalion 19:18 19 Jul 05

are you getting any beeps or not getting that far
click here

wobblymike 19:21 19 Jul 05

No I'm getting further than that it does all its auto detects ok then starts to run whatever it is I have given it and just stops

flavas 19:31 19 Jul 05

can you access the bios?

wobblymike 19:33 19 Jul 05

I can and have gone through it line by line it looks ok but any suggestions welcome

flavas 19:40 19 Jul 05

there might be a feature you need to enable on the bios for the startup type to be external(eg boot disk,floppy). By default some bios systems are configured to boot from hdd only and you need to change that setting. Have a thorough look it might be the cause

wobblymike 19:42 19 Jul 05

Thank you - done that I have set the floppy to 1st boot device and CD rom to 2nd, the HDD is flat so its out of the equation at the moment - the machine boots ok it justs stops dead instead of running the program. Any more thoughts welcome

flavas 20:34 19 Jul 05

try updating the bios click here

dan11 20:45 19 Jul 05

Mmmm. An awkward one;-)

So you can get it through POST but not load?