Unable to reinstall Windows 95

eddiejackr 21:14 27 Feb 06

I have treated a 10 year old PC as something of a project - have totally dismantled it and then reassembled. I am an absolute beginner but I think I've put everything in the right place! The PC now powers up and I can get in to the BIOS. I have the manufacturers boot disk, a Windows start up disc that I must have made myself many moons ago, and a Windows 95 CD. I have tried various things, but ultimately they all end up with the A:\> prompt. What should I do? ( I know 95 is ancient but it's a starting point - once I gain confidence I am hoping to upgrade the whole thing, but I'm working with the old stuff for now as I'm not afraid of spoiling it..)

Ex plorer 21:36 27 Feb 06

Hi I have the same problem loading Win95 if its the Win 95with USB it should load ok on Fat a 32.
If its the first of Win95 I found a site on the net which says it has to be Fat16.
There were I think 3 versions of 95.

namtas 21:45 27 Feb 06

Maybe this will help

click here

At the A:-

You have a number of options,

FDISK where you can delete, create or view partitions.

Or, you should be able to type the drive letter of your CDROM containing WIN95 and (the drive letter might be E) and press enter, then at the E: type SETUP and see what happens.

woodchip 21:52 27 Feb 06

Download the tenth file from top click here after downloading, put a floppy in drive and double click the file to create a Win98se boot disc. There are more CD drives saupported with this disc. Start computer with floppy disc and your Win95 CD in the Drive, choose Start With CD Rom Support from list, it will create a Ram drive, Ignore this it will go back to A:\> if you only have one Hard Drive and one CD drive type at A:\> E: press enter then at E:\> type setup press enter and follow setup through. You do need the Windows 95 CD key when it asks for it

Ex plorer 22:06 27 Feb 06

click here Found one other site that may be of help.

woodchip 22:09 27 Feb 06