Unable to Network Desktop with Laptop

clash33 11:16 21 Jul 06

I have internet access running on both PC,s
Desktop is running XP Pro and Laptop is running XP Home. The desktop is connected via USB to a ADSL Router (GWART2-54125) and the laptop has a Netgear wireless PC card. I have activated shared folders on both pc's and have run the networking wizard many times but no joy. Can someone please help. Thanks

clash33 11:19 21 Jul 06

It may be an issue the laptop is a sony vaio

Gordon999 11:44 21 Jul 06

Clash33,

Not sure if you've looked into this.......or how much you know about TCP/IP (apologises if you are well up), but may need to look at the IP addressing to ensure they can talk to each other.

clash33 11:48 21 Jul 06

I'm new to this so TCP/IP is a new one on me, what do I need to check and where will I find it, Thanks for your help

mgmcc 11:56 21 Jul 06

If you have internet access running reliably in both computers then you definitely *don't* have a problem with TCP/IP. They both connect to your router which will allocate their IP addresses in the same subnet.

The most common reason for networked computers not communicating is that you have firewall software installed and haven't configured it to allow them to communicate, which may involve adding their IP addresses in a "trusted" area.

Something which might help to get the two talking is to use "IPX/SPX/NetBIOS Compatible Transport Protocol". This doesn't need configuring with IP addresses and so on like TCP/IP and isn't affected by firewalls. However, for internet access, TCP/IP is still required.

To install "IPX/SPX/NetBIOS Compatible Transport Protocol" in Windows XP, go into the Network Connections folder, right click the Local Area Connection and select Properties. In the General tab, click the Install button. In the next box, highlight Protocol and click Add. Select "NWLink IPX/SPX/NetBIOS Compatible Transport Protocol" and click OK.

clash33 12:02 21 Jul 06