unable to connect to router

lignum vitae 13:01 03 Mar 10

I have just purchased a samsung n110 netbook and I am trying to connect it to my Netgear DG834GT router with very little success.I get the response the netbook has detected the router and the signal is strong but limited or no connectivity. i am quite new to this so i would be delighted if you kept it very simple.
I dont know if this helps but when I did IPCONFIG i got the following
ipaddress 192.168.0.2
Subnet Mask 255.255.255.0
Default gateway 192.168.0.1
Thanks in advance for any help

mgmcc 13:34 03 Mar 10

"Limited or No Connectivity" usually indicates that the network adapter hasn't connected properly to the router to get its correct IP address. Windows then defaults to allocating a "169.254" address with limited connectivity.

HOWEVER, you do have a valid IP address of 192.168.0.2 so where are you seeing the reference to Limited or No Connectivity?

lignum vitae 16:43 03 Mar 10

I see the reference to no connectivity on the samsung when I try to connect.

lignum vitae 17:45 03 Mar 10

sorry mgmcc I think I have been very silly I gave you the reading from my pc.
It should have been auto config ip address 169.254.115.152
submask 255.255.0.0
default gateway........shows nothing

mgmcc 20:00 03 Mar 10

I assume the Netbook is running Windows XP? If so, try this:

Open the Services window ("Start > Run", type SERVICES.MSC and click OK), scroll down to the Wireless Zero Configuration entry and double-click it to open its Properties sheet. Make sure the service is "Started" and that its Startup Type is set to "Automatic".