UKFreeview reception question

boot-it-out 11:06 23 May 07

Quick question,

Using a USB DVB-T stick ( connected to a rooftop aerial ) and scanning for channels I can only find 4 channels - BBC1, BBC2, BBC3 and BBC News 24.

The signal strength shown on the computer is excellent, and I can receive all the Freeview channels on a stand alone Freeview receiver connected tothe same aerial.

Is this likely to be related to signal strength / reception, or is it something to do with frequencies being scanned needing different settings etc. ( and if so what are they ? )

Hopefully the fact that I can only get these 4 specific channels will mean somethign to someone !

FreeCell 16:15 23 May 07

Now I am no expert here on aerials and TV transmitters but I do know that the Freeview multiplexers (MUXs) transmit different channels and the strength from transmitters of the different muxs varies. MUX1 is the BBC channles you mention so sounds like this is being received okay but the problem is with the others. Could be because of sensitivity of your DVB-stick or a scanning problem.

YOu'll finf infor on your local transmitter here click here

Stuartli 17:02 23 May 07

You may have too much signal, surprising though it may sound.

All but the ITV related channels transmissions are in 16QAM form, but the ITV stations are in 64QAM form.

Some helpful info at:

click here

along with a lot of other useful reading.

boot-it-out 10:54 27 May 07

I knew very little about Freeview settings when I started out, and getting my USB DVB-T stick to work with Blaze TV has been a challenge !

My local transmitter is Sutton Coldfield - the various channels / frequencies etc vary across the Country - you can find settings for your own transmitter here : click here

The Sutton Coldfield transmitter broadcasts 6 "Mux" channels, called Mux1, Mux2, MuxA, MuxB, MuxC and MuxD.
"Mux" means Multiplex - allowing more than one "service" ( programme ) to be broadcast on a single Channel ( frequency ).