Two identical HDDs randomly not showing in BIOS/Windows

LukaStemberger 23:16 29 Mar 15

Hi everyone! I am a bit desperate because I consider myself to be knowledgeable in hardware but this is driving me crazy. If I could have your help please...

I decided to upgrade my computer, but save some money while doing it, so I got some components on ebay (I'm saying it because I know there's a possibility of a faulty device). I work as a video producer.

This is my configuration:

• AMD 8350 (used, ebay, seems to be working perfectly)
  • ASUS M5A99X EVO R2.0 (used, ebay, the same seller, -could- be the problem)
  • G.SKILL F3-10600CL9D-8GBNT 2x4GB RAM (working well, the next thing to upgrade)
  • ZOTAC GTX760 (used, ebay, different seller, working well, rocks on games as well as Premiere)
  • Crucial CX600 (new, I thought my old 600W no name PSU was to blame, so I got this one)
  • Samsung EVO 850 250GB (new, working well, partitioned as a 110GB boot + 125GB current video editing project)
  • Seagate ST3320620AS (old 320GB drive, using it as a downloads/unimportant drive)
  • 2x Samsung HD103SJ (1TB drives, used to be in RAID 0, now I use them as storage/backup in AHCI mode, -could- be the problem)

So, what happens is my two Samsung 1TB drives sometimes don't show up in BIOS (randomly), or Windows (randomly). Usually when I boot the computer they are gone (not always), but after the restart they are back. Once in a while it even happens that the computer freezes on POST or in Windows when trying to restart. Other than that the system works great and so do the drives once they're visible. It's just annoying having to restart all the time.