Turned Off SSID B/casting - now no internet!!

vickym 13:20 11 Feb 08

Hello everyone.
I'm new to this wireless stuff, so forgive any ignorance. I recently got wireless broadband through Tiscali (Siemens Gigaset router). Was working fine until yesterday when I tried to make my network more secure. I went into my router admin page (192.168.1.1) and disabled SSID broadcasting. Since then I've not been able to connect to the internet. I briefly got back onto the router page and managed to turn SSID back on, but it's made no difference.
I've reset the router - nothing.
I then uninstalled the tiscali software, and now that i've tried to re-install it, it won't recognise my WPA code.
In desperation (cos my auction on ebay was nearly finishing!) I tried to make a wired connection, but that wouldn't accept my password even though it was correct.
After a lengthly call to tiscali customer (unhelpful)service, they told me there was a problem with the exchange in my area. I don't think that was the case because I was picking up wireless connections from my neighbours. Also by brother-in-law's tiscali internet worked just fine and he lives round the corner.

I'm really frustrated and upset because I was just trying to following security guidelines and as a result, I have no internet and tiscali won't help. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated because I'm at my wits end.

Many thanks in advance
Vicky

User-1229748 13:25 11 Feb 08

you are paying tiscali for a service you are not getting - they should be helping you - there are plenty of other isp.

vickym 13:29 11 Feb 08

Yes I agree! I've only been with them for about 3 weeks though so i'm a bit bound to them till the year is up. Although, I suppose if they're not keeping they're contract to provide service, then I might be able to cancel.

It took me 2 weeks, 3 e-mails (none of which were responded to) and 4 phonecalls to get the default username & password for my router!