Troubleshoot your Windows 7 performance issues

RISC OS user 10:30 02 Oct 13
Answered

"Pavilion dv6 - 6b08sa" Thank you "secret squirrell" for your previous reply, whilst I am not a novice to computing, I would be pleased to receive any help you are willing to give re trouble shooting Windows 7 performance issues. I already have a disc image of both my windows computers on an external hard drive. I see that Microsoft are releasing Windows 8.1 as a free download this October. I think this is a very large patch, so would believe that if I were to purchase a copy of windows 8 I should be able to upgrade,(patch) it later. I would also believe that installing windows 8 over 7 would not be much different to what I did when I installed Windows 7 over XP on another PC a couple of years back. As your mentioned it would be best to clean install the OS, and yes it would be a lengthy operation but better in the long run. Do you think my AMD Laptop should be as fast as my i5 desktop? I look forward to reading your comments etc.

Secret-Squirrel 12:52 02 Oct 13

" I am not a novice to computing..............I would be pleased to receive any help you are willing to give re trouble shooting Windows 7 performance issues."

OK, here you go:

Task Manager is a good tool for troubleshooting performance issues. Boot your computer, open all the programs you'd normally have open at the same time and allow the computer time to "settle down". Open Task Manager and click the "Performance" tab. Look at the "Memory" bar graph, and what's shown in "Physical Memory (MB) - TOTAL" and report back your findings.

Next, keep an eye on the "CPU Usage" bar graph for a while. When you're not doing much on the computer it shouldn't be showing more than 15% or so. If The CPU is constantly very busy (>70%) then let me know and I'll tell you how to troubleshoot the cause(s).

If your computer's only slow sometimes then do the above when it next happens.