Trouble with a CD_RW Drive

MLewis 11:21 20 Feb 04

Hello everyone

A few days ago I was having trouble with a second hard drive on my pc and a friend who was looking at it turned it off. I have since found out that my CD RW does not work now. It seems like there is no power to it, ie no lights come on and it will not open when you press the open button. I am running Windows ME. Is it possible that by turning off the second hard drive it has turned off the CD RW as well?? I have looked in the my computer bit of the pc and where before I had the CD RE set up as the F drive this is now longer there.

I am a complete novice really but I remember that my friend did someting in the bois screen to turn the second drive off

can anyone help??

Cuddles 16:51 20 Feb 04

i would say your best remedy would be to ask your friend what he/she did, possibly the secondary ide channel has been disbled.

Diemmess 16:55 20 Feb 04

This is a difficult one to answer with only what you tell.
If you are still friends with the "friend" try and get him/her to undo what was done.

More Helpful info. is needed for others to be able to help you...

(1)Turned off the second HD?...... How and where was it turned off, and perhaps why?

(2) Has anyone opened the box to do this? If so this is most likely where you need to go to put things right.

(3) You ask about BIOS settings?.... It is possible that this can be done, but until we know more about your problem, it is better not to change anything in there ..... that's tiger country!

MLewis 19:17 20 Feb 04

The second hard drive was turned off becuase it was trying to access the main C drive all the time hence slowing the pc down. My friend did this by going into the bios and doing something ( what I don't know, maybe turn off is the wrong way of saying it, disabled may be better) He did not open the case to do this.

Thanks for all your help so far

Diemmess 17:13 21 Feb 04