Trojan Horse found on my PC

lilliebet 01:58 02 Dec 03

My AVG scanner has found a trojan horse, dropper swicer A on my PC but can't get rid of it. What can I do?

Â ÑÌÇKÑÂMË 02:02 02 Dec 03

Had same thing on my pc a while back AVG found it with the resident scan,ran a full scan and it did clean it but it left nasty affects had to format,might not be like that with you have a look
click here

might help

Regards.

beeuuem 02:15 02 Dec 03

Try the following:-

Disable System Restore (Windows Me/XP).

Restart the computer in Safe mode or VGA mode.

Run a full system scan and delete all the files detected as Trojan dropper.

lilliebet 02:46 02 Dec 03

A Nickname

Ran TrojanScan - no joy - didn't detect this one. Should I have disabled AVG first?

Beeuuem

My OS is 98 and I'm a complete novice. Don't know how to restart in safe or VGA mode (or how to return from there) Any help?

beeuuem 03:08 02 Dec 03

The usual way is to reboot the computer and tap F8 as the computer boots up, but some computers have a different key to get into safe mode. The method given below is a little longer but more certain as it will work on all computers.

Windows 98/Me
Windows 98/Me includes the System Configuration Utility. If you can start the computer normally into Windows, this is the easiest--and the recommended--way to restart the computer in Safe mode.

To configure the System Configuration Utility to start the computer in Safe mode:

Close all open programs.
Click Start, and then click Run. The Run dialog box appears.
Type 'msconfig' and then click OK.

The System Configuration Utility, Click "Advanced."

The Advanced Troubleshooting Settings dialog box appears. Check the 'Enable Startup Menu' box , and then click OK. Click OK again when the System Configuration Utility reappears.

You will be prompted to restart the computer. Click Yes. The computer will restart in Safe mode. (This can take several minutes.)