Transfer Peachtree Accounting from 1 PC to another

Rabi 23:24 18 Sep 04

Have Peachtree Complete Accounting 2002 on one PC running Windows XP, moving office within company and would like to transfer my PCAW 2002 data to another PC running same PCAW 2002 software on ientical PC.
How do I do this? I have a CD Writer on the original (source) PC, so I could burn the data, but would someone walk me through this, as I am a complete novice and can't even find my current data when I look for it on my hard disk (but it's there...) , but we are also networked. Help!

Thanks

daba 23:33 18 Sep 04

I would suggest, although I have no knowledge of the Peachtree package, that it would be a simple case of backing up your accounts data files (most likely built into Peachtree) to CD, or to another PC on the network.

Then install Peachtree on the new PC, and restore the data files from the backup made earlier.

Once everything is up and running on the new PC, uninstall Peachtree from the original PC, unless you have multiple licenses, of course.

However, the thought occurs to me that if you are simply relocating offices within the same building/organisation, wouldn't it be logical to take your PC with you..?

Rabi 23:52 18 Sep 04

Thanks, daba,
No, can't take PC with me, my colleague in same booth shares with all his data etc.,& has personalised "his" PC. I move into another booth, another floor. We have no IT Dept., but PC's were installed and networked by contracted company, ane we have to figure everyhting else ourselves.
Don't know where my Peachtree data is, don't know the extension the data is filed under; last time I had to do this, I had to re-enter all the data... don't/can't do this again. there must be a simpler way?

daba 00:29 19 Sep 04

Have you tried 'Help' in Peachtree, and searched for 'Backup/Restore' options.

But there would probably be no need to know where Peachtree stores its data files, only where you back them up to, so you can restore them.