TP Link Homeplugs, now socket sensitive?

Epirb406 22:28 13 Jan 15
Answered

Hi All,

I have been running a network for around six months which includes a TP Link Homeplug adapter as a wireless access point for three IP CCTV cameras in my workshop which is some 25 distant from the house.

As the summer has turned into winter I have seem frame rates from these cameras drop, I thought nothing of it really, assuming that something had changed but without too much idea what and unconcerned because it was still working well enough to catch the badgers digging up my lawn!

However, last week the connection dropped out entirely.

I spent a pretty frustrating weekend looking at network and hardware issues, including isolating any other equipment in the workshop, drill chargers, heaters etc, all to no avail.

Finally this evening, on a hunch I tried the adapter in a different socket. It works fine.

So, same workshop, same 240 ring, all sockets live and functioning, three sockets can make a connection, three can't.

Why not, and why could it previously?

Any experience out there that could help?

All the best and thanks in advance,

Barney

wee eddie 13:22 14 Jan 15

As your workshop may be less warm and dry than the house, I suspect that oxidation of the contacts may be your problem.

If this is the problem, a possible solution is to get a standard 3 pin plug and insert it into the socket several times. Also, using a pencil, run it over the pins of your Homeplug Adaptor

Epirb406 20:38 14 Jan 15

That's a fair shout Eddie, I'll give it a look, it is maddeningly intermittent as I tried one of the dead sockets earlier today and it connected, lasted about 15 mins and then dropped the connection.

A bit of verdigris might just be it, I'll let you know.

Cheers,

Barn

Fruit Bat /\0/\ 21:09 14 Jan 15

Are they getting affected by a temperature drop?

Epirb406 20:25 29 Mar 15
Answer

Hi all,