Top frame will not display when uploaded

Eileanbeag 16:19 20 Jun 05

I have created a website in Dreamweaver MX using frames and although there is no problem viewing on local computer I am unable to get the Banner which is displayed along the top in 1st frame to display when uploaded. I am using the templates from Dreamweaver called Fixed top nested left. Any ideas what I might be doing wrong? Any help would be appreciated - as you will understand I am very new to Dreamweaver.

Eric10 19:25 20 Jun 05

It's possible that the source for your topframe is pointing to the page on your local drive instead of to the one on your website. If the code for your frameset says something like <frame src="C:/banner.htm" name="topframe" scrolling="no" id="topframe"> then that's trying to load your locally stored page. It should have a relative address such as <frame src="banner.htm"... with no reference to your local drive. If this doesn't help you then we can tell you more if you post the website URL so we can look at it and see what's going on.

Eileanbeag 09:07 21 Jun 05

Will look at that tomorrow as I am away from home todayh - Many thanks

Eileanbeag 11:39 23 Jun 05

Recreated site without frames but it is loading very very slowly. Any suggestions would be gratefully received!! URL is click here

Eric10 10:44 24 Jun 05

The site is loading much faster since you changed the pictures to gifs but in doing so you have introduced spaces into the filenames which is bad practice for websites. The "picture1 copy.gif" on the Closeup Magic page is corrupted and should be redone. I'm glad you've dropped the frames as these work against you getting a good placing in the search engines and having a meaningful title for each page also helps with this. You can get rid of the imagetoolbar that pops up when you hover over certain of your images in IE by including the following meta tag in the head section of each page:

<meta http-equiv="imagetoolbar" content="no" />

Good luck with the site