Tools>folder options>file types

Brumas 21:45 08 Aug 04

I have made a folder to keep all my holiday photos in, and prior to having had to reformat the computer using the Sony system restore disks, was able to view them as a slide show through an option in ‘File and Folder Tasks’ - I am running windows XP home. This option does not seem to be listed in the left-hand side pane of the window now.

I am a computer novice but I decided to have a look around to see if I could amaze myself and find a solution and whilst looking in Tools>folder options>file types for a way to do this I must have inadvertently hit the wrong key/option/choice – whatever and now I cannot open the Holiday photo folder by clicking on it. When I left-click the icon for it, the SEARCH RESULTS window opens up ! In order to open the folder I have to right-click and choose OPEN from the menu which does the trick.

I tried System Restore but it hadn’t been enabled, I tried retracing my steps and when I go back to Tools>folder options>file types I can see under the ADVANCED tab (when File Folder is highlighted ) that in the Actions box – find is highlighted and I can not alter this. I click the NEW tab and , in my ignorance type ‘open’ in the action box, l don’t know what to type in the APPLICATIONS USED TO PERFORM ACTION except ‘open’ again but all I get is another dialogue box saying THE SPECIFIED PROGRAM COULD NOT BE FOUND. MAKE SURE THE FILE NAME AND PATH ARE CORRECT.

Could someone please give me step by step instructions as to how I can sort out these problems out. I generally do not tinker around and try to solve problems - and rest assured I will never ever try to again!! I consider my fingers well and truly burnt!!

johnnyrocker 21:49 08 Aug 04

i always thought that system restore was enabled by default?

johnny.

Fruit Bat /\0/\ 22:03 08 Aug 04

Tools>folder options>file types>advanced>action = explore

Gongoozler 22:04 08 Aug 04