Tiscali broadband while keeping virgin net email?

lucozade9 21:21 21 Oct 05

Hi im still using dial up and would like to switch to broadband now i have noticed its becoming unlimited again and is super fast for the price.

I currently have a virgin net 24/7 dial up (£14 a month) connection however would like to keep the email address but dont fancy virgin net broadband so was wondering if i switched to tiscali broadband (eith 1mb £15 or 2mb £18 per month) and downgraded the virgin net account to pay as you go dial up to keep the account open would it still let me recieve my mail from virgin net email despite tiscali connection or would this not be possible??

Thankyou very much for your help as i am no pc expert :)

spuds 21:46 21 Oct 05

Downgrading to a basic dial-up package with Virgin, would still allow you to keep your email address. To keep the account open, you will need to use it on a fairly reasonable basis.

Tiscali will provide another email address, which you could eventually use to transfer email contacts from the Virgin account.

lucozade9 21:57 21 Oct 05

Ok that sounds about right

When you say a fairly reasonable basis are we talking logging on virgin pay as you go 5mins a week or even more?

Dipso 00:33 22 Oct 05

Virgin used to specify how often you had to dial in to keep your email account live. I can't find the details but it was something like once (no specified connection time) every 60 days. I have an email account with them from when I had Virgin broadband in 2003. I cancelled the broadband after 6 weeks but kept the account as Pay As You Go. They used to send me a reminder email every so often to remind me to dial in to keep my email live but I haven't had a reminder in a long time and my account is still active.

rawprawn 09:38 22 Oct 05

You are best to bite the bullet and get a new email address from tiscali.

Batch 10:04 22 Oct 05

rawprawn