Tiscali Broadband Recommended?

southpaw 18:43 09 Apr 05

Hi

Just cancelled my dial up with AOL due to poor service.

Now looking for Broadband. Had a look at Tiscali, BT, Virgin, Tesco etc.

Tiscali seem to be offering the best. Considering going for 2Mbps for £19.99 with 15GB limit.

To me this looks like the best deal. My only concern is the cap of 15GB. As I'm new to BB I feel I'd want to download a load of mp3s and maybe some videos and am unsure how much I'd be using.

Can anyone recommend Tiscali to me and confirm my decision?

Technotiger 18:50 09 Apr 05

Hi, yes I would go with Tiscali. I use BT myself, but have recently set-up two friends with Tiscali BB - all went without a hitch.

Cheers.

Technotiger 18:51 09 Apr 05

ps - Welcome to the Fast-lane.

southpaw 18:51 09 Apr 05

Sorry, would also like a recommendation to go wireless.

I have a PC and a Laptop. What equipment would you recommend which would be suitable with Tiscali.

TomJerry 18:52 09 Apr 05

if you do not download movies constantly

loser7 18:53 09 Apr 05

I am with Tiscali and have been for over a year.. I cancelled BT and i wont go back

Technotiger 18:55 09 Apr 05

Wireless network - sorry can't help on that one. Never done it myself.

Cheers.

southpaw 20:41 09 Apr 05

Just as an idea how much is a 2 hr film in regards to 15GB?

Technotiger 21:13 09 Apr 05

Hi, 1hr of Video requires approx 13GB Harddrive space. That is from making one's own video - not sure if it is the same downloading to hdd.

Cheers.

SurfMonkey _#:@}™ 21:39 09 Apr 05

Technotiger what software do u use i can get 120 minutes + of film on less than 8gb`s of hdd

Technotiger 22:01 09 Apr 05

Hi, Pinnacle Studio8, but have not made a long film yet - only quoting from User Manual, though it does also depend on Settings - High Grade etc.

Cheers.

This thread is now locked and can not be replied to.

Nintendo Switch review: Hands-on with the intuitive modular console and its disappointing games…