Three broadband dongle

adamagain 00:45 12 Jul 09

Seem to be downloading at dial up speed on the dongle.

Im only getting one bar signal so i assume thats why.
But just incase do you have to configure the computer in any way or just plug it in and it does everythinh automatic.

Im using IE browser can you change that to help with speed.
Thanks.

User-1229748 04:39 12 Jul 09

there are other browsers but i don't think you will gain much in speed.others may have other suggestions but you could try either firefox or opera.i use opera 9 because of lack of memory and find it the quickest but most others would probably say firefox is quicker.google chrome is another that you could try.you will find them atclick here

Border View 23:54 12 Jul 09

I have been using the 3 dongle for three months now. I will be topping up with my £10s worth on Wednesday. Out of the 3gbts the dongle came with I have used just over 1gb. I found a slight increase (from one bar to three bars) in signal strength when I used the dongle usb extension. In fact I went as far as to get a two metre usb extension lead and hung it on a sticky hook on the window.

Doesnt matter how many bars I have it doesnt make any difference to the speed. I use Opera as my browser because IE8 is just too slow. Opera much better. As far as download speeds are concerned the highest I have achieved is about 750. Sometimes it can drop to dial up speed of 56. Upload speeds are just not worth recording.

Also as far as speeds are concerned the time of day you are surfing plays a huge part. I have found that between 9 and 10 in the morning; 12 and 2 lunch time and 5 until 7 at night are the slowest. I also found that leaving it plugged in helps on the speed of my connection.