Is there a really easy way to design a website?

MelC28 12:02 04 May 05

First of all, I will admit that I am a novice. I bought Frontpage 2000, tried Net Objects Fusion 8. I have heard that these are "WYSIWYG" but I don't see it!
I really want to learn how to do this for myself. I want to have a webpage with: diary/journal section which I can update every day or so, faq, contact, shop, photo gallery and favourite links. I don't want advertising on it.
Do I need to take a course?
Any suggestions or advice would be greatly appreciated.

Aspman 14:09 04 May 05

Notepad.

Learn some HTML, it will help you out when the WYSIWYG editor screws up.

Apart from that you'll need to hunt round the web for learning resources. A book might be an idea but personally I've always found it very hard to learn everything from a book.

A short introcourse might be a good place to start. try your local college. I'm quite rural but even my local college does evening web classes.

number21online 14:20 04 May 05

Have to agree with Aspman, learn HTML its very satisfying to actually write the HTML for your web site even if its not perfect you learn as you go on and can sort out any problems that may arise with your web site. The book that never leaves my desk is .... HTML For The World Wide Web 5th Edition by Elizabeth Castro.

number21online 14:24 04 May 05

that should read 'It's not easy but is best'

Pesala 14:44 04 May 05

click here for a tutorial which I found with a Google search for netobjects fusion tutorial.

Notepad is a joke for beginners to webdesign. You probably do need to learn a little about HTML, but only when things go wrong, or if you want to do something out of the ordinary, which is not too often.