Telephone engineer required.

woodbury1 16:18 23 Aug 07

Prior to obtaining broadband, I fitted a junction box in my loft enabling me to have an extra telephone extension in my house.

This was done by cutting the line into my loft from the pole, inserting a junction box, re-attaching the line to my main point and an addition cable to use as an extension in my study. This has worked well with as an additional telephone extension and also dial up internet connections.

Now I have broad band I have real problems with my ADSL signal, it has progressed from sporadic to none at all. IS THIS A FILTERING PROBLEM! How can I rescue this situation with employing a rather expensive BT engineer.

Kate B 16:23 23 Aug 07

I'm no expert but I guess you will need a BT engineer as it sounds like a bodge that you've got away with so far but which is showing its weakness now that you're using the line for broadband.

heymin 16:35 23 Aug 07

This setup sounds the same as mine and should work as long as you have filters fitted to each 'phone socket.

mfletch 16:50 23 Aug 07

Hi disconnect everything from your phone line and try a new adsl filter on one of the lines if it does not work try the other line,

Don't forget to disconnect the SKY box line if you have sky,

mfletch

umbongo(uk) 17:05 23 Aug 07

does this help more

click here

or are you after the colour co ordination of the internal extension

click here
your internal may look diffrent as in you may have to push the corresponing wire into a grip slot instead of screw type
look close and youll see the corresponding number
1 to 6 ...........4 and 1 arnt used

Fruit Bat /\0/\ 17:35 23 Aug 07

A master socket contains a 1.8µF capacitor to pass ringing current to the telephones, a surge arrestor 11A or 26A to suppress high voltage spikes.

Everything should be AFTER your main box.

Best bet now is to put your main box in the loft where you fitted the junction box, and run extensions to the other places you need phone equipment.