Switching on windows updates

astra46 22:38 14 Feb 04

When i click on control panel then system i cannot find the automatic updates tab.

I want to switch on the windows updates.

I am logged on as an administrator.

Has there been a recent update?

I might have this problem as i reinstalled xp a few months ago.

ensonricky 22:47 14 Feb 04

Have you got access to Widows update in you start menu programs. You can also get access to the settings by right clicking My Computer.

astra46 22:55 14 Feb 04

When i right click on windows update, click on run as, click on user, type in my password. I get the message administrators only. I am an administrator.

Whats going on?

astra46 21:56 21 Feb 04

I am missing out on all the Windows update.

I am still getting the administrators only message, when i click on windows update, after it says checking for windows update.

What can i do, i am logged on as an administrator?

Help!!

JIM 22:31 21 Feb 04

since your reinstall of xp have you been to windows updates for the service pack or anything at all? (Blaster patch ect.)

Do you have any firewall besides the standard winxp?

Are you ok if directed to the windows registry to check or add a setting following a list.?

Sorry about the ? but it may help.

astra46 22:46 21 Feb 04

I dont think tha i have had an update since reinstall of xp.

I have zonealarm, i have tried switched it off.

JIM 22:51 21 Feb 04

unless i have read elsewhere? but will post info.

"Update,just read your reply,(other window i had open)and if you did connect for updates, make sure you have your antivirus working and download the Blaster patch etc.first turn on your firewall even if it is just winxp.

Have a look first and do a dummy run with out alteration if you feel not so confident.

Administrators Only" Error Message When You Attempt to Use the Windows Update Site

click here;EN-US;316524

SYMPTOMS
When you attempt to use the Windows Update site, you may receive an error message.