Surround sound 5.1 laptop setup

feedquentin 11:33 23 Oct 08

Hi there! just bought a medion akoya s5610, and i want to connect it up to 5.1 surround sound but I've been told that its built in sound card wont cut it. I've googled for sound cards and 5.1 speakers, I've got a budget of under £100 and came up with this:

Soundblaster X-Fi Notebook
click here

Creative OEM T6100 5.1 Surround Sound Speakers
click here

Please could anyone confirm whether this would work or not with my laptop? I've got very little experience with laptops and sound cards so I'm looking for reassurance. Couldn't find much info on the sound card either.

Diemmess 12:32 23 Oct 08

Just browsing but saw your earlier thread click here

I think this may be the best advice you are likely to receive.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
There is usually no space or possibility to fit an alternative sound card to a laptop.
Have you tried re-configuring the sound "card" you already have?

Your new speakers should be an unbelievable improvment to the built in ones, and only you will notice if they don't measure up to your dreams.

feedquentin 13:00 23 Oct 08

Thanks for your reply :) I've recieved quite a few different responses on different forums about this. I was told that this sound card would work by medion forum. I was dissapointed to hear that i may only be able to use 2.1 speakers.
I'll try reconfiguring the sound card, probably the best thing to do before i splash out on new stuff.
Ooh just found out my medion DOES have a expresscard slot, so in theory the Soundblaster X-Fi Notebook should work..
But first ill try re-jigging the current card.
Thanks for your help :)

splinternet 22:51 23 Oct 08