A Student Network with Broadband....

Hello, you helpful bunch!

I am a first year student at University living in Halls this year, and planning to move into a house next year with four mates. We all have computers (4 desktops and 1 laptop) that we've bought within the last year, and they all have network cards in them.

One of our projects for our house is to set up a network with broadband internet access, the ability to look at each other's hard drives and to be able to play both internal games (ie with each other) and games with people in a similar position in a different house, presumably over some server on the net.

I would appreciate some basic advice on what sort of hub is advisable, what cables are best, and anything else that is needed. Also, what sort of price are we looking at for the equipment, and then for the broadband connection. For that matter, can we even share a connection between all of us?

I really am a beginner, and don't know what I'm on about!

Oh - and the games are purely for short breaks between the hardcore studying that we will undoubtedly be slaving through! Honest! ;-)

Cheers.

MartinT-B 17:21 10 Apr 03

LOL

In the forst instance I'd advise you to Browse the World Of Windows Netwoking (WOWN) site click here

It's a very German (plain) site, but is full of FAQs and advice for networking all types of OS's and PCs.

Then work out a budget and see what you can afford to do vs what is best for the property and ISP connection.

Some ISPs don't care if you network (Telewest don't) Some do. You may have to lie to your supplier !

Also, You can probably only have one subscriber, make it the most reliable in the house, and (s)he will then have to allocate secondary emails to the other housemates if you all want ISP mail.