strange noise from my PC

ali888 05:15 16 Mar 06

Hi,

I've got a problem here and wonder if anyone may be able to help me here. This morning i heard a noise coming out from my PC box. Sounds like emergency alarm siren from the box. I then restarted it hoping the noise would go away. And it worked (the noise stops). However, up until now, i'm still puzzled by it thinking how on earth would a pc desktop produce such a noise like that. This is my first time. What i've also done is check the event by going to event viewer. There are 3 items on the list.
Note: i only focused on date between 15/3 and 16/3 because any other days before today were fine.
1. Application - seem normal except got a warning on 16/3 i.e today from MySQL
2. security - None
3. System - seems fine(just information)

I don't know what's caused it. so i hope someone would be able to help me.

Thank you in advance

mstran 06:59 16 Mar 06

Hi,

According to the problem you have just described, probably you are having problems with your fan(s) in the CPU or hard-disk

There are 2 fans in ur CPU which is power supply fan and CPU fan. You might want to check them! But be careful..If you want to check CPU fan, turn off ur PC and wait for it to cool off. Then open the case and see. If its CPU fan's problem, u ll need to replace it since if u dont, ur CPU is at risk of burning.

If its power fan, dont ever attempt to fix it by urself. Just go and replace with a new one.

You might want to check the hard disk too. Since strange noise from hard-disk could be a signal that ur hard-disk might crash:( You can refer to this website for more clarification

click here
Hope this helps:)

remind 08:09 16 Mar 06

As mstran says check your CPU fan and heatsink, a two tone beeping from some machines warns of overheating.
you can take a look at the cpu temp using this (click motherboard/sensor) - click here
or possibly from a screen within the bios

mstran 09:43 16 Mar 06