Strange noise coming from my PC

ali888 05:11 20 Apr 06

Hi,

I was wondering if anyone might be able to help me here.

I have a PC desktop used as a web-server in the office. It was working fine til recently one day when i came to the office early in the morning, i heard a noise coming from the desktop box. The noise, if i can describe, is like the sound of siren in times of emergency. It's not beeping. Honestly, this is my first time i heard the noise like that.

Not sure what caused it to trigger that noise and happy if anyone encountered this problem before, might be able to share it with me.

BTW, the system is AMD Athlon(TM)XP, 1.61 Ghz, 256M RAM, windows XP Pro.

Thank you very much in advance

terryf 05:22 20 Apr 06

Seems like it may be fan related, take the covers off and see if you can pin-point the noise, could be a wire or cable has moved and is touching fan blades

remind 06:04 20 Apr 06

Possible overheating problem, or case-intrusion alarm, follow terrfy's advice.

ali888 08:55 20 Apr 06

Thanks a lot for your advise.

I have a feeling that it might be due to the fan. However, in general, do we need to change the fan if the PC has been around and in use for more than 2 years?

I'd like to check the temperatures of the CPU however, may i ask what the standard temperature for the CPU before it gets overheated. The reason i ask because i can find a temperature checker for PC on the internet to determine the temperature inside the box.

Thank you very much in advance

bjh 09:11 20 Apr 06

If it sounds like an alarm , it may well be an alarm! Most likely, an overheat or "missing fan" (ie broken fan)alarm from the motherboard. What make/type is the motherboard?

The best temperature monitor - certainly the easiest & currently well-supported is Speedfan
click here
and it would be well worth installing that, & seeing what it finds. It will also tell if fans are rotating (but a visual check is worthwhile).