Strange (Error?) Message Following Backup

  Sizzers 24 Jun 12
Locked

When I backup my PC on Windows 7 I get the following message: “Your computer has been restored to an earlier point in time. As a result your backup settings might be out of date”

I’ve not found anything particularly helpful through google, except to run sfc /scannow which comes back with: "Windows Resource Protection did not find any integrity violations”. Any ideas what the problem is anyone?

Many thanks,

Malc.

  Graphicool1 24 Jun 12

This isn't an error message, it's just informing you that because you've done a restore or backup to be aware that you might have to also reinstal drivers etc that might not now be there.

  Sizzers 24 Jun 12

Hi, and thanks for the reply.

So as long as everything is working okay - which it is - there's nothing to worry about then? Thanks.

  ams4127 24 Jun 12

Basically, what it means is that if you have reset your computer to a time in April, then the backup you made in May is wrong.

Make another backup.

  Sizzers 25 Jun 12

But I've not reset the date on the PC.

I don't have scheduled backups on my PC as I don't usually have an awful lot to save to be honest, so maybe every 3-4 weeks I will do a manual backup. Over the last week or so, though, I've started to rip a few albums and backed up afterwards and this is when I've first noticed this. Thanks.

  Graphicool1 25 Jun 12

Sizzers

This isn't a big deal, but it's being blown up out of all proportion...

"But I've not reset the date on the PC."

It has nothing (directly) to do with the PC's time and/or date.

The reason I didn't come back to you the second time is because in my mind the non-problem had been sorted! Apparently 'ams4127' felt that further explanation was called for and you have misunderstood his follow up explanation.

When I back up my Windows 7, I also get this message,...“Your computer has been restored to an earlier point in time. As a result your backup settings might be out of date"...It isn't an anomally peculiar to your PC, it's the norm.

As I said before..."it's just informing you, that because you've done a restore or backup, to be aware that you might have to also reinstal drivers etc that might not now be there."

You said it yourself..."So, as long as everything is working okay - which it is - there's nothing to worry about then"...correct.

Advertisement

This thread is now locked and can not be replied to.

Should I upgrade to Windows 10? 8 reasons why you should upgrade to Windows 10... and 2 why you…

We are being sold the ability to spend money we don't have. And we love it

IKinema aims to banish droopy shoulders and wonky spines in animated CG characters

How to use Apple Music in the UK: Complete guide to Apple Music's features

We use cookies to provide you with a better experience. If you continue to use this site, we'll assume you're happy with this. Alternatively, click here to find out how to manage these cookies

hide cookie message