Stranded in Internet blackspot.Wireless an option?

SharonLD72 18:58 02 May 06

I recently moved into a flatshare and took my trusty laptop which had connections aplenty at my previous place even with no intenet connection in the actual house.
At the new place...NOTHING. As far as I can see there is only one phone line at the new flat and I think one person uses this for her own internet connection. Is there some way of piggybacking from hers without awkward wires/getting people in to install another connection and without causing any inconvenience/expense to her.
I'm new to all this networking malarky and have no clue at all. I suspect she's using OneTel but I don't see her much so who knows.
Any feedback would be appreciated because I'm fed up with crowded internet cafes when I have a perfectly good laptop at home.

ade.h 19:06 02 May 06

I apologise in advance if I have misinterpreted your post, but are you actually saying that you have previously used other people's wireless networks? You certainly seem to be claiming that you would do so now if any were available in your new location. THIS IS ILLEGAL.

SharonLD72 19:12 02 May 06

Oh blimey. Really?! This is exactly my point...I'm clueless. What I want to find out though is if there's anyway I can make some sort of wireless connection from my flatmate's broadband...with her prmission and all above board?

ade.h 19:28 02 May 06

No not really, though for different reasons. Her ISP would not appreaciate her sharing her service with someone else, and could cut her off if they became aware of it, so it might not be wise to risk it.

The practice of using wireless networks without permission is known as piggybacking (if in the same building) or wardriving (if you're parked outside) and has resulted in prosecutions.

dms05 16:34 03 May 06