STOP 0x000007B error message

tallboy 10:05 20 Aug 06

I have Windows 2000 Professional running on my 5-yr old PC. When I started it up this morning, I got a STOP 0x000007B error message. I have tried booting it from the emergency repair disk, but that didn't work.

It looks as if I have a virus on the Master Boot Record, in spite of using Norton AV. (Although on checking the BIOS settings, I discovered that Virus checking on the boot sector was disabled. It must have been like this from new, since I have never been in that part of the BIOS - heavens knows why you wouldn't want to check it for viruses.)

What's the best way of fixing the problem? The text with the message says to check for viruses - but how can you do that if you can't get Windows to start?

It also suggests using DOS 6.22 Msav.exe to clean the MBR. Where can I get that from and again, how can I run it if neither DOS or Windows won't start?

If I re-load Windows 2000, does it overwrite all the current Favorites in Internet Explorer and my email messages & contacts directory in Outlook Express, or is it 'intelligent' enough to see that these data folders are already populated and should be used in place of the empty ones?

Finally, if I reload Win 2000, will I have to re-install all the applications?

(Obviously, I would need to download & install all the Win 2000 updates for the past 5 years - unless these files remain intact in the C drive during the re-install.)

Any help & advice would be most welcome!

Thanks

Tallboy

ArrGee 10:18 20 Aug 06

click here
In the case of the above, you would lose all favourites/contacts etc. In fact all files would be lost and applications will need to be re-installed.

ArrGee 10:19 20 Aug 06

Can you start-up in safe mode?

tallboy 13:50 20 Aug 06

Unfortunately you can't start the PC in Safe Mode either.

squareye 21:41 20 Aug 06