still image from mini dv cassette

sam-unwise 16:41 26 Sep 05

I have a new sony handycam 19E which does not have a separate memory card slot so still images are stored on same tape with any video images. When I transfer to my harddrive everything is transferred in video clip format. I'm not very technically minded and I haven't been able to find a way of converting my still images to correct format so that I can print or email photos and wonder if anyone knows how to go about this. Software supplied with camcorder is Picture Package Ver 1.5. Any suggestions anyone please?

woodchip 16:45 26 Sep 05

Now this I will take note of as I have a JVC that does the same a button called snapshot.

Fellsider 19:19 26 Sep 05

At a guess I would say that you download the still images by USB cable instead of the AV cable.

sam-unwise 19:41 26 Sep 05

Thanks Fellsider, I wish it were that simple, but I downloaded using USB. Instruction book doesn't cover this at all, just says press this button to take a still photo and it will record with 7 seconds of sound. No instructions on how to get still photo out which makes it a bit pointless really.

De Marcus™ 19:44 26 Sep 05

This isn't an answer to your problem but why not play the video snapshot back at fullscreen resolution and press printscreen. paste into an image editor.

zemdarin 20:18 26 Sep 05

Or if you have Pinnacle 8 or nine just bring it into there. You can take snapshots of all your video then. Same as you can in Nero if you have it. You can then edit them and print them.

woodchip 21:12 26 Sep 05