static on new buils

futurhead 21:22 17 Apr 05

i`m about to build my first pc and need advice on static . i`ve bought a anti static wrist band but shld i be taking more precautions. i`ve read in a book before installing the board i should connect the cpu/heatsink/fan and the ram but i should lay the board on some baking foil and use a crocodile clip connecting to the this needed.not seen much mention of static on here.

what precautions do other people take.

DieSse 21:24 17 Apr 05

Laying the board on baking foil semms pretty nutty to me - it could short out across the battery!

sat481 21:29 17 Apr 05

I very rarely use anti-static mats and bands since I just end up tangling myself up in them. Just be careful and aviod touching any of the components on the board and you'll be fine. I've been playing with electronics for 12 years and so far had no trouble with this method.

Take care

futurhead 21:31 17 Apr 05

i did think that it sounded strange.reading an artical on builds it keep saying `be carefull not to short out the board`. i`ll be giving that bit of advise a miss.

octal 21:34 17 Apr 05

I work on static sensitive equipment everyday, If you clip your wrist strap to the frame of your computer then remove the component from the anti-static bag you'll have no problems as it will make sure everything is at the same potential.

I've never had any popped components using this method.

Under no circumstances work on your computer with it plugged into the mains, but switched off at the mains, this is baloney and down right dangerous, this in case some one is thinking of mentioning it.

futurhead 21:35 17 Apr 05

sat481 you sound like a brave man .i`ll give the wrist strape a go. i`m a very unlucky man!

cheers though the fear of messing it up is reduced.

futurhead 21:38 17 Apr 05

duly noted . no plug in mains . this book by r.a penfold seems to have been a waste of money.

octal 21:45 17 Apr 05