Startpage worm

andy625 11:24 04 Feb 05

My pc has got the startpage worm. Whenever I open IE it displays fullscreen, and the start page has changed to ":blank" which is a search page. Norton pops up to say that there is a virus detected in C:\DOCUME~1\jon\LOCALS~1\Temp\sp.dll - "delete succeeded access denied" I've updated virus definitions scanned pc and found nothing. Then I installed microsofts spyware prog and found spyware that I then deleted but the virus is still there (start page still changes even if I reset it, and norton pops up).

I tried following the steps on the symantec site, but host files seem to be ok, and as far as I can tell, registry keys havent been changed (I'm not an expert with registry stuff). The only thing I haven't tried yet is running a virus scan in safe mode (don't know what difference that would make?)

Can anyone tell me if there is a tool to remove this virus? If so, where can I get it?

Thanks

Andy

GANDALF <|:-)> 12:12 04 Feb 05

Turn off system restore, go to click here and follow the instructions.

G

Sethhaniel 12:29 04 Feb 05

and lose all your roll back settings

When you can get a tweak to unhide the folder and virus scan inside it -
Notice that microsofts latest beta spyware prog scans inside even when hidden.
Link is in one of my postings so will get back to you.

Sethhaniel 12:37 04 Feb 05

click here
look under Burrwalnut

SANTOS7 13:12 04 Feb 05

click here this will help,good luck.....

GANDALF <|:-)> 13:53 04 Feb 05

System Restore will save 'malware' programmes and these wiull keep re-occuring. Turn off sys restore and the programmes get deleted.

Sethhaniel 14:14 04 Feb 05

you can be selective - find which points have the malware in and just delete those :)

andy625 14:27 04 Feb 05

Thanks for all the advice.

I've turned off the system restore and searched "My computer" for sp.dll, and its not there. I think Norton deleted it.