Starting a small home network - Please help

alexgray104 18:15 09 Jun 05

I am a novice in creating networks and wish to build a very small one(one pc and one laptop) in my home. Both have XP Home and at least 256mb of RAM. The laptop is wirelessly enabled. I have a dear option and a cheap option. Please tell me if any one of them is wrong or at fault. Thanks.
Dear Option:
1.Buy Wireless router and plug into and set up on Desktop.
2.Press wireless button on laptop and it detects the router and establishes a connection
3.I am able to share broadband connection with the laptop and desktop able to go on different things at different times. Am also able to share files and printer.
Cheap Option:
1.Buy 802.11g USB 2 network adaptor plug into desktop pc and set up.
2.Press wireless button on laptop and it detects the adaptor and establishes a connection
3.I am able to share broadband connection with the laptop and desktop able to go on different things at different times. Am also able to share files and printer.
Thank you very much for your help :-)

De Marcus 20:57 09 Jun 05

The cheap option: you won't be able to use the net, share files or printers whilst the desktop is switched off

Gaz 25 23:51 10 Jun 05

I have the expensive option, and it works great.

Up to you, do you require to work on all PC's at the same time?

geoff47 23:46 12 Jun 05

My daughter has just got a wireless enabled laptop,and wants me to set up a web connection in her bedroom....which of the two previous would best suit me.
9 times out of the 10 the PCs will be in use at the same time.
Dont think we will ever need printers and other use out of the connection,just Internet.
I am using Win98 she has XP
Thanks for any suggestions
Geoff47

oberon 18:32 13 Jun 05