Starting out in E-commerce

wutzy 13:33 09 Jan 05

Hi there,

I run a small business and want to have a go at selling on-line.

Question is this:

Having spoken to a couple of web designer/developer types I can see it could cost me thousands to get started with a bespoke site but as a relative novice, I don't want to get conned into spending money that I don't need to on this part of the project.

I know also, that there are off the shelf packages such as Actinic that could be used as the back end of such a site.

At this stage I'm not whether the whole project will work or I'll end up spending a lot of money for very little result.
On the other hand if it goes as well as it might, I don't want to end up having committed myself to something that is not up to the job after a short time and then have to spend more on it a second time.
I think they call it "Catch 22"!

If anyone has some impartial advice I'd really be very grateful.

Many thanks

Wuzty

Forum Editor 14:17 09 Jan 05

and although it's far from cheap (£445 for the starter edition) it's almost certainly going to be less expensive than a bespoke system - and possibly better, too.

click here and take a look - it takes a lot of beating. If your business lifts off and you need to upgrade you can move to the high-volume version at just about double the price. By the time you need this version cost won't be the main consideration however.

Forum Editor 14:24 09 Jan 05

on this question of cost. Once you've bought the software and configured it to run on your server (extremely easy) and integrated it with your site the main influencing factor is the size of your catalogue.