SQL Server not found in Win2K

Heefie 09:22 13 Feb 03

I'm using Windows 2000 & Microsoft Office 2000 plus I have Visual Enterprise 6.0 installed ... as far as I know ALL the latest available upgrades are installed ... however, I must point out that whilst I have been using PCs for donkey’s years and I’m an experienced IT professional, VB & Access are very low on my evolutionary scale s> !!!

I have never come across a problem like this whilst using Windows 95, 98 or ME & am wondering if it's because Win2K is based on NT & I therefore need to set up extra details and/or links.

I've been looking in a VB6 book that I've got & it seems to insinuate I need to add the SQL server ... the ODBC Data Source Administrator lists dBASE Files, dBase files - Word, DeluxeCD, ExcelFiles, FoxPro Files - Word, MS Access Database, Visual FoxPro Database and Visual FoxPro Tables but nothing about SQL at all ...

In User DSN I click ADD & choose SQL Server.The only option I get in the drop down menu for "Which SQL Server do you wish to connect to ?" is (local), so I choose that and click NEXT ...

It then asks "How should SQL Server verify the authenticity of the login ID ?" So I leave it on Windows NT as opposed to user & password. I click NEXT and get the following :

Connection Failed:
SQLState: '01000'
SQL Server Error: 2
[Microsoft][ODBC SQL Server Driver][Named
Pipes]ConnectionOpen(CreateFile()).
Connection Failed:
SQLState: '08001'
SQL Server Error: 6
[Microsoft][ODBC SQL Server Driver][Named Pipes]Specified SQL server not found

I am trying to do something fairly simple really; interrogate a TXT file and print some details from it in a structured format. After looking at Internet examples and through my VB6 manual it seemed like there was a lot of work to be done just Opening and Closing files ...some of the Internet examples said to use Access as it was easier ... it may be, if I can get it to work !!!