speadtouch-dial-up

kbg 22:07 20 Oct 05

I know i can be stupid at times but someone please help, I recently signed up with wanadoo broadband, received my modem ect., I have filters on all phones, yet it's very slow connecting, { i am new at all this} also it says at the top of window, dial-up, I was taught dial-up is different to broadband. Can anyone explain in english.
KGB

ened 07:08 21 Oct 05

But with Freeserve (I hate the name wanadoodoo)you have to connect everytime you have turned your computer off.
Once you have connected it will stay on until you either disconnect it yourself or Freeserve disconnect you (they sometimes do this but you can re-connect immediately)or if BT run a test on the line.

Sometimes if an external agent such as this has disconnected you I have found that the right hand light on the modem will keep flashing. This might only be the way I have it set up. But if this is the case simply re boot the computer.

Regarding the speed of your connection: I am connected within seconds and always have been but I am quite close to the exchange I don't know if that makes a difference.

Hope this helps.

kbg 10:01 21 Oct 05

Hi ened, I have been told I should 've gone with Freeserve, Wanadoo is a pain.I see what you mean; I do disconnect at night and connect tne next time but its still slow, am keeping eyes on modem lights as you suggest.Not sure were nearest exchange is, must find out.

Thanks for replying. kbg

spuds 12:07 21 Oct 05

I think some confusion is creeping into you posting. Wanadoo is Freeserve under a new name, and not two different ISP's.

Broadband is not a Dial-up service, and it is run in a different way. When you have connected try some speed test out,and come back with the results.

To do speed test, use each of the following links for a comparison. click here click here click here

For details about your exchange, use this link click here

ened 17:13 21 Oct 05

But you are faced with a dial-up connection box.