SpamPal not catching spam - time to replace it?

Red Devil 09:46 11 Oct 06

Hi all,

I've been using SpamPal for many years for my spam filtering and have been very happy with the performance, especially for a program that doesn't cost anything except for a donation should you want to make one - until now that is.

Now I'm finding that, instead of picking up 90%+ - and it used to be 99%+ - of the spam I'm receiving it now only picks up around 70% of the spam I'm receiving - and that's on a good day. On a bad day it's less than 50%. On the plus side, I never - or very, very rarely - get false positives when using the program.

I'm also finding that the blacklists don't work as I would expect. I'm adding domains that I commonly get spam from - for example, I get LOADS of spam that "appears" (though I do appreciate it could be being spoofed) from a mailing list website click here - to the blacklist and e-mail from these domains still gets through SpamPal.

So I'm thinking it may be time to change to another spam filter. I've used Norton Anti-Spam 2004, 2005 & 2006 and, while I really like NAV and NPW, Norton's anti-spam program was a real issue to me. Far too many false positives, far too little tagging of real spam and a nightmare to configure.

So what else is there that I could trial? I'm prepared to pay for a decent program if that's what is takes but if I pay for a program I want something that works on at least 90% of the spam I receive. Anything less than a 90% tag rate on a program that costs money is unacceptable to me. I'm also looking, if any such programs exist, for something that allows you to report spam back. While spam seems to be constantly changing and evolving from what I receive and anti-spam programs are left constantly trying to "catch up", I have noticed that a sizeable chunk of what gets through SpamPal has the same old content, from what appears to be the same old domains that I was receiving spam from 6-12 months ago.