SP3.. again :)

Tim Page 13:20 14 Jun 08

Hi there..

I'm a newbie to the forums, probably falling into the category of "a little knowledge being a dangerous thing" :)

I've read as many threads as I can find about this, but I seem to have a slightly different set of circumstances and issues to others after installing XP SP3.

Sadly, I didn't really pick up on the issues with SP3 until I'd tried a lot of other things which probably haven't helped and may have made things worse.

I started off with the eternal re-boot (which - after hours searching for Sasser and Blast - seemed to be cured by blocking the shutdown and running a Eusing registry fix).

Then Norton failed and suggested I reinstall: I uninstalled but it wouldn't reinstall. Then I uninstalled SP3 but am getting the threat to reboot again (which I'm blocking from the command prompt).

I don't have any network connections showing (though bizarrely I am happily connected to my router and posting this!); Windows Firewall won't open (says it can't open Internet Connection Sharing); and there are weird things I've not seen mentioned elsewhere: the most obvious is not being able to move files around, either by dragging or cutting and pasting, but also a general unresponsiveness. Skype also generates rucks of errors if you try and run it (but this doesn't really surprise me :))

Symantec's RegFix turns up nothing.. and I'm running out of ideas (though I've now installed AVG to give me some protection).

So.. some questions:

1. Am I at the point of reinstalling Windows? If not, what will actually fix these things.. because whatever I roll back isn't fixing it so far.

2. If I do reinstall, does anyone have any clues about fixing my inability to move files first? I'd really like to dump a load of stuff onto an external drive before I do so.