Sound, speakers, modems, etc

waydekirrane 15:57 15 Dec 03

Got a computer at the weekend and need some help. i got the tower second hand off someone and bought a monitor, keyboard and a mouse separately. the person i got it off had just built a new machine and so had taken some of the parts. it looks like there is no modem - ie i'm a novice and as i can't find somewhere to put the phone cable into assume there is no modem! i would like to know how to know for sure if there is no modem - is there somewhere i can look to see what kind of hardware the computer has? if not what kind of modem would you recommend at a reasonable price and where should i go to get one? also there is no sound. there is definitely no speakers, but can't you get sound from some sort of speaker built into the tower? again, is there somewhere i can detect the computer's capabilities? if not can i just buy some speakers or do i need a soundcard as well. sorry for the mess. any help greatfully recieved

Diemmess 16:17 15 Dec 03

"If you can't see it, you probably haven't got it"

A modem is perhaps your next step, but first (particularly to help give sound advice) what can you say to describe your "box" better

Have a look in Windows System Information. It should be possible to see what Processor, RAM and operating system you have.

Trackrat 16:18 15 Dec 03

I do not know what your operating system is but you can get the information you want from system information.
Click START - highlight all programmes - highlight Accessories - highlight System tools - then left click System information then left click the + box at the left side of Components, then click on Sound device to show what sound device is on your computer, then click on Modem, if their is one fitted it will show up here.
The speaker built into the tower is mainly used by the BIOS,you need seperate speakers for your sound

critic-al 16:25 15 Dec 03