Sound Card Users - Please Advise...?

al7478 14:26 29 Sep 07

I have on board sound at the moment in a dell 5150 with Logitech Z2300 2.1 speakers.

I'm considering getting a sound card, but have no experience in the area and, naturally, dont want to waste money.

I'm not a gamer, nor do i need to record - im no musician, just a listener. but my PC is effectively my stereo also, so im looking to get the best i can out of music, and dont really want to go above a 2.1 system, so just want to get the best out of my current speakers.

I know i've probably missed some info, but thatll all come out.

So what are people's experiences of the benefits of soundcards?

PO79 14:37 29 Sep 07

To be honest, for what you require I would stay with what you have. Onboard sound is not so bad these days for listening to music.

al7478 14:48 29 Sep 07

I thought that may be the view of some, but some of the online demos I've heard (i forget exactly which, but Creative demos) have shown a definite increase in sound quality.

That said, many thanks for the input, as, like i said, i dont want to spend money unnecassarily, so yours may be the best tack.

Technotiger 14:49 29 Sep 07

I agree with PO79, I do have a Sound Card but mine connects to my TV/VCR/Camcorder/HiFi, but for just listening to music your on-board sound should be quite adequate, and certainly cheapest option.

al7478 14:50 29 Sep 07

Thats interesting technotiger, why do you connect yours that way?

Technotiger 14:53 29 Sep 07

We were typing at same time - it is true that a sound card can greatly enhance the quality, but if you don't want to spend, then stick with your on-board sound. Though having said that, a good sound card is not too expensive, mine is a Creative SoundBlaster Audigy2.

Technotiger 14:59 29 Sep 07