Sophos Anti-Virus

Sturmey 21:59 05 Apr 04

I have been using sophos anti virus for the past four months and no virus so far, however today I was bored and thought I'd try the trend online virus scanner and it found 4 viruses that sophos had completely ignored mmmmm. All tis time I've been thinking I was protected against a virus but in fact I had four. My question is whats the point of sophos if it doesn't detect viruses. is trend anti-virus worth buying?

TommyRed 22:11 05 Apr 04

I've noticed a few people on here call paid-for AV for letting a virus through. It would appear that this has happened on occasion with the Free ones too. I do wonder if the people keep them up to date, it would benefit if you did, try Avast click here and the one I use AVG click here both free for domestic use. HTH TR

VoG II 22:23 05 Apr 04

Which on-line scanner and what were the names of the viruses that it found?

Sir Radfordin 22:35 05 Apr 04

I would be VERY surprised if an up-to-date version of Sophos let any virus though. Sophos is one of the leading companies in this field.

VoG II 22:37 05 Apr 04

Quite! Used by Government departments for example as well as the humbler company that employs me.

Sturmey 22:54 05 Apr 04

I updated the sophos ide's yesterday 4th from the sophos site, I can only say what happened to me and it appears in my case that sophos didn't do the job.

It was the trend house call online virus scan, sorry I cant remember what virus it found, it found one straight away that it cleaned then there where 3 others that where unclean-able so I had to delete them manually they where in this folder C:\Documents and Settings\Larrie\Application Data\Sun\Java\Deployment

0006 22:57 05 Apr 04

I agree, too. If Sophos is good enough for MI5, it's good enough for me.
Sturmey: make sure you visit click here for the latest IDEs. Don't rely on the CD updates alone.

This thread is now locked and can not be replied to.