//some 3rd party need geo

Somebody Hacked Into My Aol Account!

t_o_m 21:19 02 Apr 03

I just thought I should let you folks know that my Aol account was hacked into at 6 this morning. I wasn't even on my computer! They managed to send 10 emails to people I don't even know. If anybody has had any similair experiences please let me know. I am changing to BtOpenWorld tomorrow. For all those using Aol - you have been warned!

cherie 21:31 02 Apr 03

I had a problem with my AOL account. A few months ago, instead of my usual £5.95 bill I was faced with £200+ !!!
When I contacted them I was told that the next month's bill was already at £150+. I told them that there was no way I had accumulated such an account and they furnished me with details. Many of the times were when the house was empty. They tried to say that my husband could be accessing it from work but as he drives a van all day & is a complete novice on computers I disputed that vehemently!!
They sent me a declaration form which I had to fill in with every line of billing and I had to declare that I had not used AOL at these times. They accepted my statement and I was eventually cleared of the bills but it was a lot of work to get there!! You have my sympathies. They admitted that it looked as if someone had definitely hacked my account...or as they put it...The account had been compromised.
Good luck!!

Kyomii 21:35 02 Apr 03

Basically, this means that your AOL password was compromised, and this can happen with any account not just AOL.

Just in case you decide to stay with AOL, or for general guidelines, here are a couple of rules that I follow:

1. Make sure you change your account password once every three to six months to avoid it being compromised.

2. When choosing a password it is surprising how many people use "qwerty", "member" or similar. Choose a password with capitals and small letters, numbers and allowed signs.