Some quick beginner questions

NarcosisBoy 21:15 10 Mar 05

Just some questions from a newbie here folks.

What is a system defrag and would it be beneficial for users to carry out a defrag?

I use AOL BB but do I also need NIS (it does seem to be permanently scanning and sending alerts to me but is this a good thing?)or would I be better with an other antivirus programme?

I have today added spyware programmes and am shocked at how many files that they flagged up and deleted and quarintined (I DL'd Ad-Aware, SpyBot, Spysweeper, SpyCleaner Gold and SpyDoctor - are these the right choices?)

My PC has slowed down a bit in the last while - is there a problem or is this to be expected with use etc?

No matter what I do I can't play mpegs that use DivX5 codecs as for reasons best known to itself my PC won't play them no matter how many times I DL the codecs and this is frustrating.

Any comments most appreciated

Narc

JoeC 21:23 10 Mar 05
  JoeC 21:28 10 Mar 05
  Buchan 35 21:29 10 Mar 05

We`ve all been there. You`re choice of anti spyware is OK but I did`nt notice an Anti virus. You must have one of these. A kind guy who knows the url will soon say "click here" in blue. In the meantime I`m making the assumption that you`ve got XP. If so go to Start>All programmes>Accessories>System tools> Disc Cleanup. That should clear a lot of clutter.
I do a defrag every 2 to 3 weeks just to keep my PC honest. Only takes about 5 or 6 minutes. Another way of clearing rubbish is to go to Start>Control Panel> Internet Options>Delete Cookies and Delete Files.
Should speed things up a bit. However wait for the experts, and best of luck

Buchan 35 21:30 10 Mar 05

I`m a slow typist

Happy Soul 21:32 10 Mar 05

click here and click here are both very popular on this site.

Technotiger 21:37 10 Mar 05

click here or click here for essential Firewall - both Free downloads.

Cheers.

NarcosisBoy 21:41 10 Mar 05